Para acceder a los documentos con el texto completo, por favor, siga el siguiente enlace:

Supporting automatic recovery in offloaded distributed programming models through MPI-3 techniques
Peña, Antonio J.; Beltran, Vicenç; Clauss, Carsten; Moschny, Thomas
Barcelona Supercomputing Center
In this paper we describe the design of fault tolerance capabilities for general-purpose offload semantics, based on the OmpSs programming model. Using ParaStation MPI, a production MPI-3.1 implementation, we explore the features that, being standard compliant, an MPI stack must support to provide the necessary fault tolerance guarantees, based on MPI's dynamic process management. Our results, including synthetic benchmarks and applications, reveal low runtime overhead and efficient recovery, demonstrating that the existing MPI standard provided us with sufficient mechanisms to implement an effective and efficient fault-tolerant solution.
This research received funding from the European Community’s 7th Framework Programme via the DEEP-ER project under Grant Agreement no. 610476. This work has also been supported by the Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation (contract TIN2012-34557) and by Generalitat de Catalunya (contracts 2014-SGR-1051 and 2014-SGR-1272). Antonio J. Peña is cofinanced by the Spanish Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness under Juan de la Cierva fellowship number IJCI-2015-23266. The authors thank Jorge Bell´on, from BSC, for his technical support with the Nanos++ internals.
Peer Reviewed
Àrees temàtiques de la UPC::Enginyeria elèctrica
Parallel programming (Computer science)
High performance computing
OmpSs programming model
ParaStation MPI
Processament en paral·lel (Ordinadors)
Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Spain
ACM Digital Library

Mostrar el registro completo del ítem

Documentos relacionados

Otros documentos del mismo autor/a

Iserte, Sergio; Mayo, Rafael; Quintana-Ortí, Enrique S.; Beltran, Vicenç; Peña, Antonio J.
Sainz, Florentino; Mateo Bellido, Sergi; Beltran, Vicenç; Bosque, José L.; Martorell Bofill, Xavier; Ayguadé Parra, Eduard
Ciesko, Jan; Mateo, Sergi; Teruel, Xavier; Beltran, Vicenç; Martorell Bofill, Xavier; Badia,, R.M.; Ayguadé Parra, Eduard; Labarta Mancho, Jesús José
Cilardo, Alessandro; Esposito, Luigi; Veniero, Antonio; Mazzeo, Antonino; Beltran, Vicenç; Ayguadé Parra, Eduard
Fernandez, Alejandro; Beltran, Vicenç; Martorell Bofill, Xavier; Badia,, R.M.; Ayguadé Parra, Eduard; Labarta Mancho, Jesús José