To access the full text documents, please follow this link:

A self-adaptive hardware architecture with fault tolerance capabilities
Soto, Javier; Moreno Aróstegui, Juan Manuel; Cabestany Moncusí, Joan
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. Departament d'Enginyeria Electrònica; Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. AHA - Arquitectures Hardware Avançades
This paper describes a Fault Tolerance System (FTS) implemented in a new self-adaptive hardware architecture. This architecture is based on an array of cells that implements in a distributed way self-adaptive capabilities. The cell includes a configurable multiprocessor, so it can have between one and four processors working in parallel, with a programmable configuration mode that allows selecting the size of program and data memories. The self-elimination and self-replication capabilities of cell(s) are performed when the FTS detects a failure in any of the processors that include it, so that this cell(s) will be self-discarded for future implementations. Other adaptive capabilities of the system are self-routing, self-placement and runtime self-configuration. Additionally, it is described as an example application and a software tool that has been implemented to facilitate the development of applications to test the system.
Peer Reviewed
Àrees temàtiques de la UPC::Informàtica::Hardware
Computer architecture
Dynamic fault tolerance
Arquitectura d'ordinadors
Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Spain

Show full item record

Related documents

Other documents of the same author

Cabestany Moncusí, Joan; Moreno Aróstegui, Juan Manuel; Pérez López, Carlos; Samà Monsonís, Albert; Català Mallofré, Andreu; Rodríguez Molinero, Alejandro; Arnal, Marc
Cabestany Moncusí, Joan; Pérez López, Carlos; Samà Monsonís, Albert; Moreno Aróstegui, Juan Manuel; Bayes, Ángels; Rodríguez Molinero, Alejandro
Samà Monsonís, Albert; Pérez López, Carlos; Rodríguez Martín, Daniel Manuel; Cabestany Moncusí, Joan; Moreno Aróstegui, Juan Manuel; Rodríguez Molinero, Alejandro
Pérez López, Carlos; Samà Monsonís, Albert; Rodríguez Martín, Daniel Manuel; Català Mallofré, Andreu; Cabestany Moncusí, Joan; Moreno Aróstegui, Juan Manuel; De Mingo Fernandez, Eva; Rodríguez Molinero, Alejandro