Para acceder a los documentos con el texto completo, por favor, siga el siguiente enlace:

Slow pulse due to calcium current induces phase-2 reentry in heterogeneous tissue
Peñaranda Ayllón, Angelina; Rodríguez Cantalapiedra, Inma; Echebarría Domínguez, Blas
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. Departament de Física Aplicada; Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. GICITED - Grup interdisciplinar de ciència i tecnologia a l'Edificació; Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya. NOLIN - Física No-Lineal i Sistemes Fora de l´Equilibri
Phase-2 reentry is a basic mechanism for the transition to VT and VF in the heart. It is thought to underly many causes of idiopathic ventricular arrhythmias as, for instance, those occurring in Brugada syndrome. Reentry is usually linked to heterogeneity in tissue repolarization. We study some circunstances under which a region of depolarized tissue can reexcite adjacent regions that exhibit shorter action potential duration (APD), eventually inducing reentry. Simulations are performed using a simplified ionic model that reproduces well the ventricular action potential (AP). We analyze first the conditions that lead to very short action potentials (APs). Then, we show that reexcitation takes place via a slow (calcium current induced) pulse that propagates into the region of short APs until it encounters excitable tissue. In two dimensions, this may give rise to reentry with the formation of counter-rotating spiral waves
Àrees temàtiques de la UPC::Física
Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Spain

Mostrar el registro completo del ítem

Documentos relacionados

Otros documentos del mismo autor/a

Hawks, Claudia; Elorza Barbajero, Jorge; Echebarría Domínguez, Blas; Rodríguez Cantalapiedra, Inma; Peñaranda Ayllón, Angelina; Bragard, Jean
Rodríguez Cantalapiedra, Inma; Peñaranda Ayllón, Angelina; Echebarría Domínguez, Blas
Peñaranda Ayllón, Angelina; Álvarez Lacalle, Enrique; Rodríguez Cantalapiedra, Inma; Hove-Madsen, Leif; Echebarría Domínguez, Blas
Rodríguez Cantalapiedra, Inma; Peñaranda Ayllón, Angelina; Mont Girbau, Lluís; Brugada Terradellas, Josep; Echebarría Domínguez, Blas
Álvarez Lacalle, Enrique; Peñaranda Ayllón, Angelina; Rodríguez Cantalapiedra, Inma; Shiferaw, Yohannes; Echebarría Domínguez, Blas